Board of Directors

The foundation of Omaha AHEC’s success is integrating the collective wisdom and generous resources from area organizations. Our innovative programs are the result of strong partnerships with others committed to AHEC’s mission.

"The Omaha AHEC has a broad goal to solve the health care workforce shortage problem in Metropolitan Omaha. This effort requires the collective wisdom and generous resources of Omaha to develop the workforce needed to keep pace with the demands of the health care delivery system. On behalf of the Board of Directors of the Omaha AHEC, thank you for your support."

-Richard L. Brown, Ph.D., FACHE
Board Treasurer 2011

Current Omaha AHEC Board of Directors



Alfonzo Shade (President)

Director of Strategic Partnerships and Strategic Initiatives

Charles Drew Health Center


Robert L Ingram III, EdD Principal (Treasurer) 

Retired Bellevue Public Schools


Errik Ejike (Secretary)

Program Supervisor 

Center for Promoting Health and Health Equity 

Creighton University


Drissa Toure, M.D., Communiy Clinical Research Coordinator

Center for Reducing Health DIsparities

UNMC College of Public Health


Min. Jeanette Washington, Chaplain Resident

CHI Health Creighton University Medical Center


Past Omaha AHEC Board of Directors



Dr. Richard Brown 
CEO, Charles Drew Health Center

Dianne Kelly
Executive Director, Sarpy/Cass Department of Health and Wellness

Joyce Bunger
Assistant Dean, Creighton University School of Nursing


Dr. Ward Chambers
Physician, University of Nebraska Medical Center


Antonieta (Toni) Hernandez

Drug Prevention and Community Relations Specialist, Omaha Public Schools


Fred Salzinger

Director of Health Planning, Policy and Finance, UNMC Business and Finance


Dell Gines

Community Developer


Mary L. Morrissey

Vice President, District 6 Board of Education

Omaha Public Schools


Dr. Shireen Rajaram
Director, UNMC Center for Reducing Health Disparities

John Russell
Assistant Vice-Chancellor for Human Resources,
University of Nebraska Medical Center


Dr. Theresa Townley
Director, Creighton Family Healthcare